Food Rescue

The Food Rescue Program is currently paused for the summer and will be resuming in September 2024.

The UTSU Food Bank is open weekly on Fridays for Summer 2024, running from 11 a.m. – 3 p.m. Appointments will be available every Wednesday before the service between 9 a.m. – 10 a.m. Book an appointment here.

The UTSU will be resuming our Food Rescue Program starting Monday, January 15, 2024, and it will be running every Monday and Tuesday from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. out of the Community Kitchen (Room 329) at the Student Commons, 230 College Street. This is an initiative between UTSU, MealCare and UofT Food Services aimed to address food insecurity on campus by providing prepared frozen food to University of Toronto students in need of food. This service provides support to individual students and students with families.

 

The program runs on a first-come, first-served basis, where students can come pick up a meal for lunch and enjoy and socialize with other fellow students in one of our student lounges. Microwaves are available in the third floor kitchens and second and fifth floor lounge areas. We kindly suggest that you bring your own cutlery.

 

Please note that we collect statistics about the student clients accessing the UTSU Food Rescue service for our purposes as well as for our partner agencies. If you have any questions or would like to learn more about services offered at the UTSU, please email services@utsu.ca.

When:
11:30 a.m.. – 1.30 p.m. every Monday and Tuesday

Where:
Community Kitchen Room 329 –  Student Commons (230 College St., Huron St. entrance)

How to Use Service

  • Food Rescue runs weekly on Mondays and Tuesdays for Fall 2023 from 11:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.
  • The service runs on a first-come-first serve basis and provides students the opportunity to enjoy a warm lunch while they are on campus. 
  • The fridge door whiteboard in the Community Kitchen (Room 329) will have the available meals.
  • Students can come by and grab their preferred meal from the freezer themselves and use the third floor microwaves to warm them up.
  • We kindly ask students to fill out the client sheet on the clipboard for statistical purposes.

Winter 2024 Service Dates:

  • Monday January 15, 2024
  • Tuesday January 16, 2024
  • Monday January 22, 2024
  • Tuesday January 23, 2024
  • Monday January 29, 2024
  • Tuesday January 30, 2024
  • Monday February 5, 2024
  • Tuesday February 6, 2024
  • Monday February 12, 2024
  • Tuesday February 13, 2024
  • Tuesday February 20, 2024
  • Monday February 26, 2024
  • Tuesday February 27, 2024
  • Monday March 4, 2024
  • Tuesday March 5, 2024
  • Monday March 11, 2024
  • Tuesday March 12, 2024
  • Monday March 18, 2024
  • Tuesday March 19, 2024
  • Monday March 25, 2024
  • Tuesday March 26, 2024
  • Tuesday April 2, 2024
  • Monday April 8, 2024
  • Tuesday April 9, 2024
  • Monday April 15, 2024

Frequently Asked Questions

  • During Winter 2024, the service will run in the Community Kitchen (Room 329) every Monday and Tuesday from 11:30 a.m.- 1:30 pm (see Winter 2024 Service Dates posted above).
  • Any changes to the service will be updated on this website and the UTSU Instagram.

For donation inquiries, please contact services@utsu.ca

  • Use the UTSU Food Bank
  • 211 Ontario has the most complete directory of local food resources including Food Banks and Referrals, Food Delivery, Free/Low Cost Meals and more.